Bridgettines Worldwide

Order of the Most Holy Savior of St. Bridget

The Order, popularly known as the Bridgettines (Birgittines), was founded in the year 1370 by St. Birgitta (Bridget) of Sweden to give praise and honor to God.

The spirituality which characterize the Bridgettines  include a deep love of Christ, especially in remembrance of His sufferings, the fullness of liturgical worship, a respect for learning and authentic devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary, the holy Mother of God, all incorporated into a simple monastic life style.

The Bridgettines exists at present with thirteen monasteries of contemplative nuns and a congregation of contemplative -apostolic sisters whose mother-house is located in Rome, in the actual former dwelling of St. Birgitta.

Today’s Worldwide Presence

The Order of the Most Holy Savior of Saint Bridget is present today in 19 countries:


  • Sweden: Djursholm, Falun

  • Norway: Heimdal

  • Finland: Turku, Stella Maris

  • Denmark: Maribo

  • Estonia: Tallinn

  • Poland: Czestochowa, Gdansk

  • Germany: Bremen

  • Netherlands: Weert

  • England: Iver Heath, Birmingham, Wales Holywell

  • Switzerland: Lugano

  • Italy: Roma Piazza Farnese; Via Roma Islands;  Olgiata Rome; Farfa Sabina; Assisi; Naples-Camaldoli

Holy Land:

  • Palestine: Bethlehem

  • Israel: Jerusalem


  • ***India: Marikunnu, Bangalore, Kalamassery, Pallavaram, Mysore, Nantoor, Trivandrum, Puttur, Sipcot, Goa, Chikmagalur, Kurnool, Belgaum, Mumbai, Kannur, Amachal, Visakhapatnam and Sabbavaram (Andhra Pradesh), New Delhi, Bhagalpur and Kabirpur (Bihar)

  • ***Philippines: Tagaytay, Montevista

  • ***Indonesia: Bali, Maumere

North America:

  • U.S.A.: Darien, CT and Columbus, Ohio

  • ***Mexico: Tacambaro, Mexico City, La Paz, Manzanillo, Guadalajara

  • Cuba: Havana, Pinar del Rio

*** These monasteries’ apostolates serve their communities through education and other social services.